Covid-19 update

Monorail Music is continuing to follow Scottish Government advice with regard to Covid-19. The shop is now open 11-6 Monday to Saturday and we will be reopening on Sundays from August 30th, 11-6. Admittance to the shop is via Osborne Street. Our online service is operating as normal.

Yorkston / Thorne / Khan

Navarasa: Nine Emotions


Released: 24th January 2020

CD£10.99 Buy Now In Stock. Dispatched tomorrow.
2xLP - Indies Only Vinyl£25.99 Buy Now In Stock. Dispatched tomorrow.

Yorkston / Thorne / Khan - James Yorkston (guitar/nyckelharpa/vocals), Jon Thorne (double-bass/vocals) and Suhail Yusuf Khan (sarangi/vocals) - release their third
album, ‘Navarasa: Nine Emotions’. At the heart of YTK’s transporting new album is the
subcontinent’s navarasa; the nine (nava) emotions or sentiments (rasa) of the arts and each song on Yorkston / Thorne / Khan’s new album is connected to one of these
emotions. A bricolage of diverse cross-cultural elements is apparent across the trio’s creations. James Yorkston weaves in Scottish folk, sangster and literary strands. Jon Thorne is grounded in jazz and groove. What the New Delhi-based, eighth-generation
hereditary musician Suhail Yusuf Khan brings to this feast of pulses and cycles is northern Indian classical, light classical (thumri, for example) and Sufi devotional musical and literary forms. What binds these diverse musical strands together is, in
James’ phrase, “a dark happiness.”