Brigitte Bardot

Brigitte Bardot

Universal Music France

Released: 13th July 2018

Best of compilation spanning 1963-1968. Was Brigitte Bardot a "good" singer, in the conventional sense? No. Was the material she sang in the 1960s especially deep or brilliant? No. But is this 16-track compilation of the cream of her 1963-1968 recordings a fun listen? Yes indeed. Although not the owner of conventional high-level vocal skills, Bardot invested her frivolous songs with a contagious sense of playful fun, and a refusal to take the music or herself too seriously. Certainly some of the tunes -- and their breathy delivery -- capitalize on her iconic sex kitten persona. But the guileless joy she projects is reminiscent of some of the early work by France Gall (one of the finest '60s French pop singers), though Bardot's voice is less girlish and more adult in tone. Some of the standouts, naturally, are found in the seven Serge Gainsbourg compositions, including the eerie Eastern-influenced "Contact" (arguably her most interesting recording), and "Harley Davidson," but also the famous Bardot-Gainsbourg vocal duets "Comic Strip," "Bonnie and Clyde," and "Je T'Aime...Moi Non Plus."

A1 L'Appareil A Sous
A2 La Madrague
A3 Les Amis De La Musique
A4 Je Me Donne A Qui Me Plait
A5 Everybody Loves My Baby
A6 Je Danse Donc Je Suis
A7 Ça Pourrait Changer (Don't You Ever Change Your Mind)
A8 Moi je Joue
A9 Une Histoire De Plage

B1 Ciel De Lit
B2 Bubble Gum
B3 Je Reviendrai Toujours Vers Toi
B4 Je T'aime...Moi Non Plus
B5 Harley Davidson
B6 Contact
B7 Bonnie And Clyde