Covid-19 update

Monorail Music is continuing to follow Scottish Government advice with regard to Covid-19. The shop remains closed until further notice. We are able to offer a limited online service which now includes bi-weekly ship outs. This is mainly being operated by one member of staff so please be patient when ordering and communicating with us. Thanks for all your support so far from everyone at Monorail Music.

Karine Polwart

Karine Polwart's Scottish Songbook Signed copies!


Released: 9th August 2019

Monorail are thrilled to announce that Karine Polwart will be launching her new album, Karine Polwart's Scottish Songbook, at Mono on Thursday the 8th of August.
Join us at 7:30pm for a few songs and a bit of chat.
Signed copies will ship August 9th.

Award-winning songwriter and folk singer Karine Polwart
reimagines a clutch of beloved songs that cut across fifty years
of Scottish pop. Eighties classics from Deacon Blue, The
Waterboys and Big Country sit alongside the stadium balladry
of Biffy Clyro, while maverick legend Ivor Cutler rubs shoulders
with the electro pop of Chvrches and the immaculate song craft
of John Martyn.
Recorded at Chem 19, Karine Polwart’s Scottish Songbook
features regular band mates Steven Polwart and Inge
Thomson, with Graeme Smillie (bass and keys), Calum
McIntyre (kit and percussion) and Louis Abbott of Admiral
Fallow (vocals, guitar & percussion).
Karine says, “To me, these are songs of resilience and
resistance, cries of despair and dreams of something better.
They’re pop songs, but also love songs to people and places
we all recognise. They totally fill my heart up”.

1. The Whole Of The Moon
2. From Rags To Riches
3. Dignity
4. Since Yesterday
5. Swim Until You Can’t See Land
6. Chance
7. The Mother We Share
8. Don’t Want To Know
9. Whatever’s Written In Your Heart
10. Machines
11. Women Of The World