Covid-19 update

Monorail Music is continuing to follow Scottish Government advice with regard to Covid-19. We are currently under lockdown restrictions and are currently not operating a click and collect service. Our mailorder service is operating as normal, with a reduced staff.




Released: 11th August 2020

LP£14.99 Buy Now In Stock. Dispatched today.

Juniper is a new release from 15-year-old singer, Juniper Shelley.

It’s quite an unusual album, both in its sound and creation and features appearance by:

Chris Geddes (Belle & Sebastian)
Dennis Diken (Smithereens)
Jay Gonzalez (Drive By Truckers)
Steve Goulding (Mekons, Nick Lowe, etc.)
Ira Kaplan (Yo La Tengo)
Chris Collingwood (Fountains of Wayne)
Mark Spencer (Son Volt)
Greg Townson (Los Straitjackets)
Michael Shelley (Dad)

and songs from:

Tommy Dunbar (Rubinoos) & Kyle Vincent
Kim Shattuck (the Muffs) & Lisa Marr
Francis Macdonald (Teenage Fanclub)

The album sounds unusual, because of Juniper's singing style and the unique mix of punky/poppy songs, and the basement/kitchen sink production style – which is reverent of ‘60s & ‘70s pop, but not anachronistically so.

There’s quite a range, from rootsy story songs, to bubblegum-punk, to a Brian Wilson inspired ballad.