Akiko Yano



Released: 7th December 2018

adaima was co-produced by Sakamato and features all of the Yellow Magic Orchestra (Sakamoto, Haruomi Hosono and Yukihiro Takahashi). The album sees her embracing YMO-style synth-pop, straying further from the solo piano style that defined her previous albums. Other Tadaima contributors include Studio Ghibli copywriter Shigesato Itoi and Teruhiko Yumura (AKA King Terry), who revolutionized underground manga with his trademark "heta-uma" (bad-good) style (as seen on the album cover).

The reissue comes with the original obi strip artwork, extensive liner notes and a new introduction from Joakim. Wewantsounds will reissue Tadaima in November with a couple of Yano's '70s albums—Japanese Girls and Iroha Ni Konpeitou—slated for re-release in early 2019.