Covid-19 update

Monorail Music continues to follow Scottish Government advice with regard to Covid-19. We're delighted to announce our re-opening from Monday 26 April at 11am. We will have reduced capacity with social distancing and ask that customers wear masks while in the shop. However, browsing is possible.

Entrance for now is via Osborne Street. We will be closed on Sundays, open Monday to Saturday 11-6.

Thanks for your continuing support. You helped get us through this.


From A View

Woo Me! / Spunk

Released: 28th August 2020

Yellow Ochre vinyl£19.99 Buy Now In Stock. Dispatched today.
CD£10.99 Buy Now In Stock. Dispatched today.

‘From a View’ is the debut album from Melbourne’s Floodlights.

'From a View' explores themes of identity, personal cross-roads and the misuse of power.

The bands first exploration into proper studio recording with a well regarded sound engineer. It was recorded over two days onto a 24 track tape machine at Head Gap studios in Preston in November.

Nao Anzai (Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever) engineered the album and then mixed it over the infamous Australian summer. Mikey Young (Total Control/Eddie Current) recently added the final touch with mastering.

Floodlights are made up of members Louis Parsons, Ashlee Kehoe, Joe Draffen and Archie Shannon.

Following a tour of Australia’s East Coast in October last year the band began working on “From a View”. The songs were arranged and performed as a band, but often began from Louis or Ash presenting ideas to the group and building on them from there. The songs themselves were written over various points in the bands short career, yet come together very fittingly to show their distinct sound.

Lead single Thanks For Understanding is about two lives going in different directions. It describes the complicated process of growing apart from someone, even though you still care for them.


Side A : 1 Water's Edge 2 Matter Of Time 3 Walk Away 4 Don't Pick That Scratch 5 Glory Of Control 6 Thanks For Understanding

Side B : 7 It Was All Going So Well 8 Tropical Fun 9 Proud And Well 10 Shifting Shadows 11 Happiness