Covid-19 update

Monorail Music is now open Mon-Sat 11am-7pm and on Sunday 12-7pm. We're continuing to follow social distancing rules in accordance with government guidelines. Please continue to wear a face covering where possible.

Thanks for all your support!

Swell Maps

Mayday Signals

Easy Action

Released: 30th April 2021

CD£13.99Out of Stock
2xLP£19.99 Buy Now In Stock. Dispatched tomorrow.

Swell Maps are such an important group. While their legacy is best served by two amazing studio albums and a clutch of unbeatable singles there's always been lots of excitement around the fringes too. This is an album crammed full of rare & unreleased tracks from the vaults of Swell Maps founder Jowe Head.

Swell Maps formed out of various bedrooms in the mid-70s and became one of the pioneers of DIY punk. Swell Maps founding members were Nikki Sudden, Epic Soundtracks, Jowe Head & Phones Sportsman, later joined by Richard Earl (Biggles Books) and Golden Cockerill.

This collection Includes demo versions of two of the bands singles, Dresden Style & Read About Seymour and some excellent instrumentals and vocal cuts that stray closely into This Heat / Flaming Tunes territory. The artwork was originally designed by Epic Soundtracks & Jowe Head in 1977 and now realised by Dave Twist.

A double LP set with printed inner bags in extra wide spine LP sleeve with cover sticker. A book on Swell Maps is due to be published in Spring 2021.