Covid-19 update

Monorail Music is continuing to follow Scottish Government advice with regard to Covid-19. The shop is now open 11-6 Monday to Saturday and we will be reopening on Sundays from August 30th, 11-6. Admittance to the shop is via Osborne Street. Our online service is operating as normal.

Manuela Iwansson

Dream Lover E.P.

Lack Of Sleep

Released: 29th May 2020

12"£15.99Out of Stock

Limited to 300 only. Released on Lack Of Sleep Records.
Stadium anthems for the bedroom.
Dream Lover is the debut release by ex-Terrible Feelings singer Manuela Iwansson. Iwansson's solo music harnesses the doomed romance of early 80s post-punk with a leather-bound flourish of late-70s hard-as-nails rock music. Across 4 epic songs of denied desire and dry ice hardening under the nails, Dream Lover documents a sound resplended with chorus guitars, anthemic chord changes and clinically effective songwriting.

The eponymous song launches into a Ram It Down-era Judas Priest sound, no prisoners taken, underlit desires and the encroaching night arriving to unlock forbidden passions. The mechanical drum machines echo the metallic Sisters Of Mercy era with Iwansson's vocal towering above. Into Darkness dredges up a more post-punk element with a rolling beat and stabbing guitar shards enunciating Iwansson's twin vulnerable / powerful dynamic. "I have found chaos and I am sticking to it" she pronounces before an epic moody, darkly tidal chorus. On Time Will Pass, a guitar riff with a passing resemblence to Neil Young's Rust Never Sleeps sets the tone: a slow-burning, gothic, elgiac song that drifts through cemetaries of the times gone. E.P. closer In The Rain picks up the baton from Dream Lover, a stomping post-punk-metal propulsive track with off-beat stabbing muted guitar licks and big half-time chorus.
Dream Lover is released on Manuela Iwansson's own label Lack Of Sleep in an edition of 300.