Covid-19 update

Monorail Music is continuing to follow Scottish Government advice with regard to Covid-19. We are currently under lockdown restrictions and are currently not operating a click and collect service. Our mailorder service is operating as normal, with a reduced staff.

Bas Jan

Instant Nostalgia

Lost Map

Released: 23rd November 2018

10"£12.99 Buy Now In Stock. Dispatched on Monday.

Following widespread critical acclaim for their debut album Yes I Jan upon its release in February and subsequent appearances at festivals this summer including Green Man and End of the Road, London experimental post-punk trio Bas Jan return with the Instant Nostalgia EP. Set for release on November 23, 2018 on 10” vinyl and digital download, it’s another smart, refreshing, surprising and laugh-out-loud funny set of joyously unvarnished songs in the extraordinary and distinctive idiom of multi-instrumentalist and composer Serafina Steer.
Instant Nostalgia captures the evolution of Bas Jan since Yes I Jan. The lyrics are again by Steer with songwriting contributions from nexus of the new Jan; Emma Smith (Meilyr Jones, Seamus Fogarty and founder member of the Elysian Quartet) on violin and electronics and Rachel Horwood (Trash Kit, Bamboo) on drums. Call it Bas Jan 2.0, if you will. Currently, Charlie Stock deputises for Emma Smith when the band play live, while Emma is on maternity leave.